#124: An Autumn 2016 Photo Essay

I took a walk with the dogs and took some photos with my sister’s camera. Here are the results.

I'm still trying to get a perfect photo of the back yard, I still don't think I've quite got it.

I’m still trying to get a perfect photo of the back yard, I still don’t think I’ve quite got it.

 

My companions for the journey. Butterscotch is the one who looks like she's named, Bella is the tiny chihuahua.

My companions for the journey. Butterscotch is the one who looks like she’s named, Bella is the tiny chihuahua.

 

I took a lot of photos of the road while figuring out how to work the camera.

I took a lot of photos of the road while figuring out how to work the camera.

 

Here's the same road with different lightning. Personally I find this lightning kind of dreary and oppressive. I've always hated harsh sunlight.

Here’s the same road with different lightning. Personally I find this lightning kind of dreary and oppressive. I’ve always hated harsh sunlight.

 

There's a cow pasture, and even though there's enough piles of cow excrement to testify to their existence, I personally have never seen one.

There’s a cow pasture, and even though there’s enough piles of cow excrement to testify to their existence, I personally have never seen one.

Not much to comment on this one, I thought it was a pretty angle.

Not much to comment on this one, I thought it was a pretty angle.

 

I really like this one. The road looks rather winding.

I really like this one. The road looks rather winding.

 

This is possible my favorite of the day. I wish she had pointed her face at me, it was very difficult to get a shot of her that wasn't her butt.

This is possible my favorite of the day. I wish she had pointed her face at me, it was very difficult to get a shot of her that wasn’t her butt.

 

There's an abandoned house down the road. Personally I think it's a pretty ugly house, so I'm not posting the photo of the full exterior, though this should give you an idea. I find "NO HUNTING" much more ominous than "NO TRESPASSING."

There’s an abandoned house down the road. Personally I think it’s a pretty ugly house, so I’m not posting the photo of the full exterior, though this should give you an idea. I find “NO HUNTING” much more ominous than “NO TRESPASSING.”

 

We explored. It was creepy, but I figured if there were a ghost there to frighten me, at least I'd get to see a ghost.

We explored. It was creepy, but I figured if there were a ghost there to frighten me, at least I’d get to see a ghost.

 

This is one of the upstairs bedrooms, this is one of the only items anywhere in the house that isn't old clothes or trash.

This is one of the upstairs bedrooms, this is one of the only items anywhere in the house that isn’t old clothes or trash.

 

This one speaks for itself. I'll let you make your own commentary about the election.

This one speaks for itself. I’ll let you make your own commentary about the election.

 

The upstairs balcony. I didn't chance walking on it.

The upstairs balcony. I didn’t chance walking on it.

 

I admit I felt a little uneasy, and a bit like someone was standing directly behind me. But at least this shot of the stairwell is nice.

I admit I felt a little uneasy, and a bit like someone was standing directly behind me. But at least this shot of the stairwell is nice.

 

The dogs were getting nervous too.

The dogs were getting nervous too. They left at top speed when I opened the front door.

 

Not much to say about this one.

This is one of the only photos of the road where the dogs don’t dominate the focus.

 

I usually find cloudy blue skies cliche, but they were pretty.

I usually find cloudy blue skies cliche, but they were pretty. Also note the conspicuous and continuing absence of cows.

 

She enjoys adventures. Sometimes just for fun I say absolutely nothing and follow her, letting her decide where to go.

She enjoys adventures. Sometimes just for fun I say absolutely nothing and follow her, letting her decide where to go.

 

In my vanity, I thought to capture a photo of myself. Though I failed to get a good view of my face, I did suddenly find my ear very attractive. I tried several times to get a perfect shot of my ear, but this one will do just fine.

In my vanity, I thought to capture a photo of myself. Though I failed to get a good view of my face, I did suddenly find my ear very attractive. I tried several times after to get a perfect shot of my ear.

 

I had to aim the camera higher than I wanted to avoid getting Butterscotch in the photo, but the lightning looks better at the top of the trees, even if some of the rolling green on the ground is sacrificed by the angle.

I had to aim the camera higher than I wanted to avoid getting Butterscotch in the photo, but the lightning looks better at the top of the trees, even if some of the rolling green on the ground is sacrificed by the angle.

 

Probably my favorite, and the penultimate photo taken. I got another one afterward where she looked up, but I think is the better photo.

Probably my favorite, and the penultimate photo taken. I got another one afterward when she looked up, but I think is the better photo.

Leave a Reply

