Little Brother

Sneak into the closet to get our presets
Take a break for story time
Let’s take a walk through the woods at night
Tell me your name and I’ll tell you mine
You are the happiest time of my life
You are the happiest I’ve ever been
I’m so guilty that I can’t sit still
I wanted to tell you I’m sorry for looking
Tell you I’m sorry for lying
A little is enough for me
Two days of the week is enough for me
There is a picture of you on my wall
I’ll borrow this and you can borrow this
Hours that go by as moments in time with you
Believing anything that brings me nearer to you
I’m swelling when you’re nearby
You understand me so well

Why does it feel like we’re growing apart
When once you understood my thoughts
I’ll draw you this symbol if you’ll show me that picture
I’ve been saving snapshots of you in my heart for all these years
All love is a shadow of the first
All those who came after you are pale imitations of what you gave me
I never even pressed my lips to yours until after it was over
Saying your name over and over
You pulled me out of the wet desert my world
Your wet grass and morning gray
Work with me and play again
I watched your heart breaking
I wouldn’t take advantage

I said you were my brother
I wanted you to be my lover
We were in love
I think I’m seeing that now
I think you were in love with me too
Were you?
You asked me, “what about us?”
I never thought you knew there was an us

Leave a Reply

