Bout of Books August 2014: Update #3 (The Finale)

Bout of Books 11

The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, August 18th and runs through Sunday, August 24th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure, and the only reading competition is between you and your usual number of books read in a week. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 11 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. – From the Bout of Books team

~

So, did I fail at Bout of Books? Well.. yeah, kind of. I did not accomplish any of the goals I set for myself, even after I amended them twice. I didn’t finish a single novel the entire week, and I read less than a hundred pages. However, in a competition where you set your own rules, it’s difficult to say exactly what consitutes failure. After all, as my friend Jenn reminded me, “if you’ve read at all, you haven’t failed.” After all, I did find myself interested in The Wolf Gift again, and about seventy percent of the way through the book, some interesting things actually begin to happen! Particularly the fact that a young gay werewolf is introduced and I’m just like “oh thank God.” I already have some concerns because his boyfriend was just tortured and murdered right in front of him and he doesn’t seem too shaken up about it, but then I’ve barely read the first page in which he starts to become an important character, so we’ll see.

So did I read a lot during the read-a-thon? No, not really. But I did have fun when I was reading, and that’s what really matters. Maybe the next time there’s a bout of books I’ll set some more realistic goals and devote more time to finishing them, but ultimately, this week I’ve written a couple new chapters in my novel, and posted some cool stuff here on the blog, so I’m still satisfied with how things are going. Coming soon: a post from me about my weight loss and health goals, as I am currently quite overweight and ready to finally do something about it. Until next time, I suppose!

Leave a Reply

