#88: Dream Journal: Flying Dream

I apologize beforehand at the lack of structure in the following post. When I write down my dreams I’m usually sleepy and have just woke up, so I’m just writing it down as I remember it without any thought of form or sentence structure.

I had another flying dream last night. There was a lot going on, but the most important thing was that I was in my old neighborhood where I grew up, and I could get to an area where the wind was blowing, hold out my arms, and the wind would pick me up and carry me. Then I could angle myself in such a way that I flew much faster, or I could slow down. It was a little scary because the wind would give out sometimes and I would start to plummet, but if I just believed hard enough, it would pick me back up again, and I’d go back to soaring. I could go faster if I wanted to, and not just that, I had power over wind. I could wave my hand and move things around with the wind, I could affect the world around me.
A common theme in my dreams lately is that there is a story with characters and I examine the dream from a literary standpoint, thinking to myself “I need to remember to write all of this down when I wake up!” though usually, it’s pretty silly when I wake up. At a certain point, we had reached the end of the “first book,” and a lot of the characters were all killed by the villains, and I was mostly alone, flying down the road, but I met someone else with the same power as me (earlier on the dream I had been teaching kids to fly, they could do it too, but they had to be taught). This person saw me flying and joined me. I believe they started as a girl, but at some point became a guy. We flew threw some pretty weird things, there was a hallway (which appeared in a previous dream, with paintings all over the walls) that became a kind of mausoleum, where the characters who had died in the first story were being wrapped up and buried (oddly, Whitney Houston was one of them), or actually chopped up and disposed of. I know it sounds really scary, but in the dream I just remember telling my companion that I didn’t want to see it (we were flying through the indoor area now) and covering my eyes, but we made it outside into the parking lot.
The villain was Naraku from Inuyasha, who was trapped inside of a house from earlier in the story. It also turns out that the reason I could fly was that there was a spirit who was living inside my body who talked to me for the first time. It was a pretty standard “ooooh I’m a ghost,” kind of thing, but once again looking in from the outside, I seemed to understand that this spirit was a part of Naraku, and that even though Naraku would eventually escape and become the main villain, this spirit would purify him when he rejoined him. Interestingly another villain showed up in the parking lot and me and my friend were hiding from him. The last thing I remember is that after he left, we were seen flying by a woman and she tried to tell someone else, but I somehow made us look like red birds and managed to keep it secret, hiding in a tree and shaking the branches and dropping things on them to try and make them look down, and flying back out over the neighborhood.

There were some other random details. My grandmother was in the dream, though at times she became a different person entirely, who was outfitting me with some shoes that I would wear the in the “second book,” Sophia from the Golden Girls was one of the parents of another kid in the neighborhood, and there was a sequence at the end where all of the parents (or perhaps grandparents?) were saying goodbye to their children, as we were all going forward to fight the enemies of the story, though by the time I arrived at the entrance to the neighborhood where they were waiting (along with several magical animals that I believe were elephants), all of them had apparently been killed.

Interestingly I also had a separate dream in which I was at my grandmothers house and found a Bible that was actually a book filled with photographs of a young man and his girlfriend having sex. Wanting to keep it for myself, I hid it from my grandmother, but then the dream changed, and I was in this young man’s house, and he, the girlfriend, and the father of the house I believe, were all trying to keep me inside so that I didn’t tell the world about these sex photos. I was very audacious, especially considering that in this dream I was very young, maybe twelve or so, and told them that they couldn’t keep me inside forever, and eventually I would get away from them and find safety. I don’t remember them explicitly hitting or abusing me, but there was definitely an abusive atmosphere, and a lot of fear being there. Eventually I did somehow make it outside and ran from them but I don’t remember anything after this. This dream actually happened before the flying dream.

Leave a Reply

