The Day I Met God

The Day I Met God

The Day that I met God he came right down from Heaven
I stood there disbelieving

In his left hand was a sword and in his right hand was a pen
And he told me both were mightier than he had ever been
God watches, God observes
God does not interfere
God made us and he loved us
And then he left us here

There is no intervention
There are no answered prayers
There are miracles but not because there is a God who cares
We hunger for the light
But wouldn’t know it if it came here
We’d crucify it first
And then we’d ask our questions later

The day that I met God I realized God is just too small
God is disappointing as an answer for it all
The day that I met God I was staring in the mirror
I tried to back away but still God kept getting nearer

God created man. Man created God.
And if this is the truth it is disturbing and it’s odd
Woman births the man, man creates the myth
Man destroys the woman and God just stares at it

The Day that I met God
I cried and begged for reason
But God just smiled blindly
There is no blasphemy or treason
God is just a thought
That was created out of love
There is no hell beneath us
No heaven high above

Man created God. God created man.
Leave it all to God and then take everything you can
Woman births the man, man creates the myth
Man destroys the woman and God just stares at it

God just stares

Leave a Reply

