#70: I’m Not Looking For Absolution

There’s a reason Florence Welch is my favorite musician. Her voice, her lyrics, the utter magic of her music, these things draw the listener in, and her music NEVER gets old. I have to have at least 300 plays of her first album Lungs, and I can still enjoy every song. Her second album is shrouded in mystery, we know very little except for a few new songs that have sprang up during the tour, one of which is the reason for today’s entry.

The song is called Bedroom Hymns. I didn’t expect her to top Howl when it comes to lyrics, but she’s done it again. This song is so incredibly sexual, I cannot WAIT for the new album to hear the studio version. If you look up the song on YouTube you’ll be able to find a few very good quality recordings of Florence performing this. I’ll let the words speak for themselves, but I would just like to chip in that apparently Tori Amos and I are not the only ones who want to have sex with Jesus.

Bedroom Hymns
Florence + The Machine

This is as good a place to fall as any
We’ll build our altar here
Make me your Maria
I’m already on my knees

You had Jesus on your breath
And I caught Him in mine
Sweating out confessions
The undone and the divine

This is his body, this is his love
Such selfish prayers and I can’t enough, oh

Yeah, I can’t get enough

Spilt bitter tears, I did this for you
Spilling over the aisle, the black and the blue
The sweetest submission, drinking you in
The wine and the women, the bedroom hymns

‘Cause this is his body, this is his love
Such selfish prayers and I can’t get enough

I can’t get enough
Yeah, I can’t get enough

I’m not here looking for absolution
Because I’ve found myself an old solution
I’m not here looking for absolution
Because I’ve found myself an old solution

This is his body, this is his love
Such selfish prayers, I can’t get enough
This is his body, oh, this is his love
Such selfish prayers, I can’t get enough

I can’t get enough
I can’t get enough
Yeah, I can’t get enough

Leave a Reply

