Grieving

“Sing me to sleep, I’m tired and I want to go to bed”

I was curled up on the floor with my knees to my chest
Clutching your picture in my hands
I was singing the highest my voice could go
There was heat in my stomach and my throat was sore

It is only your lips I feel in the dark
It is only your body pressed against me when I’m lying alone
It is only for you that I find myself lost, hopeless
It is only the warm water surrounding us I feel
When I am crying and remembering

I’ll keep walking, and I know I’m going to be fine one day
But on my shoulder is a weight, the memories of you that
Pull at me and break me into twos and threes and
I stand in life, a halfway living person
Breathing and sometimes alive
But there is only you
In this world
There is nothing but you and me and warm water

Leave a Reply

