#43: Like Some Child Possessed, the Beast Howls in My Brain

Howl
Florence and the Machine

If you could only see the beast you’ve made of me
I had it in but now it seems you’ve set it running free
Screaming in the dark, I howl when we’re apart
Drag my teeth across your chest to taste your beating heart

My fingers claw your  skin, try to tear my way in
You are the moon that breaks the night for which I have to howl
My fingers claw your skin, try to tear my way in
You are the moon that breaks the night for which I have to

Howl, howl
Howl, howl

Now there’s no holding back, I’m making to attack
My blood is singing with your voice, I want to pour it out
The saints can’t help me, the ropes have been unbound
I hunt for you with bloodied feet across the hallow’d ground
Like some child possessed, the beast howls in my brain
I want to find you, tear out all your tenderness

And howl, howl
Howl, howl

Be careful of the curse that falls on young lovers
It starts so soft and sweet and turns them to hunters

Hunters, hunters, hunters, hunters
Hunters, hunters, hunters, hunters

The fabric of your flesh, pure as a wedding dress
Until I wrap myself inside your arms I cannot rest
The saints can’t help me now, the ropes have been unbound
I hunt for you with bloodied feet across the hallow’d ground

And howl, howl

Be careful of the curse that falls on young lovers
It starts so soft and sweet and turns them to hunters
A man who’s pure of heart and says his prayers by night
May still become a wolf when the autumn moon is bright

If you could only see, the beast you’ve made of me
I held it in but now it seems you’ve set it running free
The saints can’t help me now, the ropes have been unbound
I hunt for you with bloodied feet across the hallow’d ground

I have been possessed by this song today. During my moments of trepidation, this song has been echoing in my head, giving me strength. But more than that, I’ve become so feral listening to it. All day I’ve been crafting a music video for this song in my mind, with darkness and hot, sexual energy, and the song itself has turned me into this beautiful animal form of the human; all day I’ve been running and jumping and pacing up and down the street, unable to sit down, bursting with energy and sexuality. This song is really something.

I got my copy of Florence and the Machine’s debut album, Lungs, a couple of days ago. I couldn’t find it in Best Buy so I ordered it online. It’s really a sepcial album. I first heard of Florence and the Machine when I saw her perform on the 2010 MTV Video Music Awards; the song she performed, Dog Days Are Over, ultimately took a while to grow on me, but I couldn’t deny her talent, and I believe I remember mentioning something about her being the most talented person at the award show (and with exception of maybe Lady Gaga, possibly the only talented person on the show that night). I didn’t investigate her further though, but about a week later, my boyfriend showed me a few of her songs on the internet, and I fell in love. It’s been so long since an artist has captured me straight away; no research beforehand, no getting to know their style before I start to enjoy them, just pure talent. It’s as though this album was hand-made specifically for me I heard a Lungs B-Side called Swimming, it was the instant favorite both of myself and my boyfriend, I downloaded it immediately (it’s unavailable on any physical album except for the Australian editions of certain special packages), and as of right now the song has 24 plays (about 15 of which were all garnered in one day).

This album is really something. I know I keep saying that, but it’s like, finally! Someone is making music properly. Someone left a comment on the music video for Florence’s single Drumming Song: “It feels like this is the first time I’ve heard music in years.” That was exactly how I felt. Not only is Florence’s voice a powerhouse, her lyrics are truly genius, her album is comprised of songs with a variety of styles and moods, and her performance in each song is unique. This is a body of work that came from the heart, and from the soul. Lungs is perhaps the greatest album I’ve ever owned, or heard. I have so much respect for this album and for Florence.

The concept behind the band is really unique too. Florence sings and writes the lyrics and music, with the help of various other musicians who play in each song. Florence is the only constant band member, “the machine” changes from show to show or song to song.

The music itself is comprised of such a wide range of genres and styles. The opening track, Dog Days Are Over, is an infectiously gleeful song that leaves me feeling elated. Rabbit Heart (Raise it Up) is an emotional ballad brimming with romantic and spiritual imagery. Kiss With A Fist is so perfectly retro-punk that I was very surprised to learn Florence wrote the lyrics herself, it sounded so classic that it wass hard to believe someone is actually making new music.

Because really, that’s what this is. It’s music that is truly. It’s so refreshing. I can find emotional meaning, symbolism, imagery, and life lessons in every song.The album also really appeals to my love of dramatic music: many of the songs build to a climactic finale backed by choirs.

In summary, this album is definitely worth getting. A group of songs with beautiful, thought-provoking lyrics, music that is unapolegitcally comprised of a variety of styles, and backed by the powerhouse vocals of Florence Welch, this is a powerful piece of modern music, from the soul of a true artist.

One thought on “#43: Like Some Child Possessed, the Beast Howls in My Brain

Leave a Reply

