#34: Love The Earth

First of all before I get started, I’d like to say if anyone was worried about me after my last post I’m feeling a lot better now, yesterday was a very depressing day and I just didn’t get a lot of sleep, but I slept until about 5:00 PM today, so I should be sufficiently well-rested. Now to try and get to bed a normal hour after sleeping all day.

I just discovered this about 10 minutes ago; Imogen Heap has partenered with director Thomas Ermacora in a project called Love the Earth. Go and check out the website, and read Immi’s letter, explaining the project in further detail and how we can all get involved.

Basically, the idea of this project is that Imogen has always wanted to do an orchestral piece, and on November 5 she has a show at the Royal Albert Hall, and she’s going to direct 30 minute piece accompanied by a video, which will be pieced together from clips sent in by fans. The project is about the Earth, it’s beauty, it’s wonder, our connection to it, and the vast appreciation we should have for all it’s glorious life.

Imogen was inspired to do this project when she was in Tanzania, experiencing the wild, and taking in the creatures and places. It’s a funny coincidence that this should happen now; about a week ago I had a somewhat similar experience. I found myself in a writing mood, and sat down to write a poem as a storm passed over my house, and through the crack of light in the window, I wrote, and found myself caught up in the majesty of nature. I wasn’t outside, I was indoors, next to my window, but I could feel it, I imagined myself as a raindrop, as the wind, I realized how infinite and mysterious our world is, how small we are, and then I started to think about humans as a people have left their mother, the Earth, and tried to build our own worlds.

But we can’t. The difference between the Earth and humans is that the Earth is a lifegiver; we, like all other creatures, are sustained by it. The Earth creates, we are a creation. The forests we create are lifeless, built from concrete, steel, and dead wood. Our societies have rules, regulations, standards, but nature has none of these. In nature, all life is free. Freedom comes at a price: constant fear of death, from predators, from illness, from storms. In nature all things coexist. Zebras do not gather themselves into an army, form ranks, and march against an army of lions. All things live, and die. It’s frightening and wondrous.

These are my observations. I don’t think all people should tear down their homes and cities and live in the wild, and I don’t think that societies are a bad thing. I simply observe, and think. It interests me that we are creations desperately trying to be creators, but ultimately all of our materials come from the lifegiver, the Earth. We are each of us sustained by the Earth’s water, it’s oxygen, and the other life around us. We are part of a greater scheme of life that is infinitely mysterious. When we strip ourselves of our societies, our ideas, our convictions, our clothing, and our presuppositions, we find that we are part of nature, and no longer think ourselves better or higher than the livegiver. We as humans try to rule everything, including one another, and we bring about only chaos, discord, and fear. Which fear is greater: the fear that tomorrow we could be attacked by a predator and eaten, in which case we would at least have a chance to defend ourself, or the fear that tomorrow our town, our city, or our country could be engulfed in a wall of heat and flame and destruction, tearing through fields and burning all life to cinders, incinerating our buildings, our roads, and ourselves, leaving behind dead wastelands where once, before we took up hammer and nail, stood endless adundant life?

This is the difference between we humans, and the Earth. We take from it, because it gives us freely of itself. It is ferocious, and with it’s storms, predators, and illnesses, strikes rightful fear into us. But it is not our enemy, it is our home, and as far as we know, it is the only home in the universe that can support life. Maybe one day another planet will evolve to this stage, and the Earth will be a red, barren wasteland in the sky that they look upon, but right now the Earth is full of vibrant, pumping life. All other creatures take of this life, and return it to the Earth. This is the cycle, and this is how life continues. Will we, with our walls of dead stone and our cities of lifeless concrete, take from the Earth and greedily store up it’s riches, using them away and planting nothing to replenish them, until there is nothing left to take? If humanity finds itself in a world no longer capable of supporting life, who will we blame?

3 thoughts on “#34: Love The Earth

  1. I can empathize with the idea of the beauty of the earth. I’m reading this book/cookbook called The Kind Diet. It’s basically an introduction into the vegan diet and how processed foods and livestock and the energy it takes to produce them is bad for the environment. I’m mostly a vegetarian and I flirt with the idea of going vegan. But I really love the idea of making a positive impact on the world, rather than just taking from it. Plus, I feel so much better when I’m eating things that I’ve grown and/or cooked from scratch. And I don’t know if it’s just a me thing or not, but whenever I’m cooking, I usually end up eating less that day.
    On a completely different note, the herbs I’ve been growing are doing beautifully, even the mint! I feel like I’m helping the Earth by growing my own things and using less products that are processed and have a more damaging effects on the earth.

    • Yes, you are helping! I have a dream that one day I’ll live in a huge house and we’ll grow all our own food. I think unhealthy food shouldn’t really be an option: if something’s made from natural ingredients, even if it’s fattening, it’s still better to eat than a bunch of chemicals. If McDonalds’ were all owned and run locally, and had their own farms in the back where they grew and made all their own food, that would be awesome.

  2. Nants ingonyama bagithi Baba
    Sithi uhm ingonyama
    Nants ingonyama bagithi baba
    Sithi uhhmm ingonyama
    Ingonyama
    Siyo Nqoba
    Ingonyama
    Ingonyama nengw’ enamabala

    Haha! Thought you’d like that! But, very good, very insightful. I’m glad you have concluded all of this and proud of you too.

Leave a Reply

