#29: Lover Alone Without Love

The Dumbing Down of Love

Well painted passion
You rightly suspect
Impersonation
The dumbing down of love
Jaded in anger
Love underwhelms you
No box of chocolates
Whichever way you fall

And if I tell you
Lover alone without love
What will happen
Lover alone without love
Will you listen?
Lover alone without, without love

No, no I’ll get this
I want to treat you
You’re still not famous
And you haven’t struck it rich
Underachieving
‘Cause no one’s receiving
This tunnel vision
It’s turning out all wrong

And if I tell you
Lover alone without love
What will happen
Lover alone without love
Will you listen?
Love alone without, without love

Music is worthless unless it can
Make a complete stranger
Break down and cry

And if I tell you
Lover alone without love
And what will happen
Lover alone without love
And will you listen?
Lover alone without, without love

Without love
Without love

Something about the words “lover alone without love” just hit me like a ton of bricks. It takes me back to when I was 14 years old, alone, so full of love, with no one to give it to. Just waiting. I can’t explain what it is, but this song just hits so many tender chords. The way Imogen sings “No I’ll get this, I want to treat you. You’re still not famous.” It just has this feeling of deep love in it. This song communicates deep love.

I honestly feel like I should have just posted the lyrics, because the song stands alone on it’s own. But I wanted to just say how beautiful this song is, how deeply it touched me, and how gorgeous it is. I don’t even want to review it, I just want to ask you to listen it. It’s absolutely beautiful.

2 thoughts on “#29: Lover Alone Without Love

  1. I’m not too familiar with frou frou. (Youtube is the greatest thing ever) But there are songs that just resonate with people. For example, I really love this band 100 monkeys. They’re not the greatest band in the world, but they’re songs are so fun. My favorites of theirs are Reaper and Wings on Fire. Plus, at their shows they do one or two improv songs where they get a suggestion from the audience and make up a song right there. Plus they all are able to play all the instruments and mix it up on stage, known as the “monkey switcheroo”.
    But yeah, I have music going all the time. I love pandora as well. I have a broadway station that has been playing a lot of Chicago lately. So that’s my mini music rant.

    • Interesting you should mention that, I’ve been planning on doing a blog discussing one of Imogen Heap’s recent ventures, in which she plays an improvised song every night of her US tour, with the key, time signature, and tempo chosen by the audience, and then puts the improv up for download, and all proceeds are donated to local charities from each stop of the tour. I just find that so innovative, I love how she’s constantly just got great ideas coming from every direction.

      You know, I don’t think I’ve ever really given Chicago too much of a try, but I think I remember thinking they sounded a lot like Boston, and even during my classic rock phase, I’ve never been a huge fan of Boston. I should be, their songs are jumpy and fun and happy, but something about it aggravates me, it’s like they’re playing some pitch that bothers me or something, I’m not sure.

Leave a Reply

